Eurogroup Working Group


The Eurogroup Working Group is a preparatory body composed of representatives of the euro area member states of the Economic and Financial Committee, the European Commission and the European Central Bank.

It provides assistance to both the Eurogroup and its President in preparing ministers' discussions. 

The group usually meets once a month ahead of Eurogroup meetings.

The Working Group President 

The Eurogroup Working Group members elect a President for a period of two years, which may be extended. 

The office of the President of the Working Group is at the General Secretariat of the Council of the EU in Brussels. 

Since January 2012, the post of President of the Eurogroup Working Group has been held by Thomas Wieser, who is also President of the Economic and Financial Committee.