Jeroen Dijsselbloem, President of the Eurogroup

© L.Kazan / Fotolia 22/05/2017 Meeting

The Eurogroup welcomed the progress achieved in Greece's programme and started a discussion on the sustainability of Greece's public debt. It aims to reach a conclusion at the meeting in June. Ministers also reviewed the economic situation in the euro area and were briefed on the post-programme surveillance in Spain.


The president of the Eurogroup chairs Eurogroup meetings, sets their agendas, draws up the long-term work programme and represents the Eurogroup in international fora.


Jeroen Dijsselbloem has been Eurogroup President since 21 January 2013. He was re-elected to the post for a second term on 13 July 2015.

Mission statement

Aims, goals and priorities of the Eurogroup during the presidency of Jeroen Dijsselbloem.