08-09/12/2016 Meeting

On 9 December, EU ministers will discuss reform of the European asylum system. They are set to focus on Eurodac regulation, the EU's fingerprint database. They will also be informed of other related matters, like the Dublin regulation and the establishment of the European Agency for Asylum.

The European Council consists of the heads of state or government of the EU's member states, together with its President and the European Commission President. It defines the EU's general political direction and priorities.

The Council of the EU represents the member states' governments. Informally Also known as the EU Council, it is where national ministers from each EU country meet to adopt laws and coordinate policies.