G20 summit in Hamburg, Germany, 07-08/07/2017

International Summit
  • International Summit
  • 07-08/07/2017
  • Germany

G20 leaders will meet in Hamburg, Germany, on 7 and 8 July 2017. The theme of the German presidency of the G20 is 'Shaping an interconnected world'.

The leaders will discuss the main topics of economic, financial, climate, trade, employment and development policy. Migration and refugee flows and counter-terrorism are other key issues of global significance that will appear on the summit agenda.

The President of the European Council and the President of the European Commission will represent the EU at the summit.


The G20 brings together 19 countries plus the EU. G20 members account for over 80% of the world's gross domestic product (GDP) and they host almost two-thirds of the world's population.

The G20 summit was established in 2008 amidst the global financial crisis to increase international economic cooperation. Since then, G20 members have been meeting annually to discuss a wide range of issues related to economic and financial cooperation.

The EU as a G20 member

The European Union is a full member of the G20 alongside four of its member states: France, Germany, Italy and the United Kingdom. In addition, Spain is a permanent invitee of the G20 and the Netherlands is a partner country.

The EU has its own seat at the G20 table as it is one of the largest global economic actor with specific competences in trade matters, economic policy, financial regulation, development, energy and climate change.

Last reviewed on 25/04/2017