Committee of the Regions: appointment of new members for the next five years

Council of the EU
  • 26/01/2015
  • Press release
  • 19/15
  • Institutional affairs
Press contacts

Víctor Flavián
Press officer
+32 22816715
+32 473640390

The Council appointed the members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2015 to 25 January 2020.  

The Committee of the Regions is the voice of regions and cities in the European Union. It has 350 members who are regional and locally elected representatives from the 28 EU countries.

Its members, and an equal number of alternate members, are appointed by the Council for five years following proposals made by each country.  

The EU Treaty requires that members of the Committee, besides being representatives of regional or local bodies, either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.