Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain third countries concerning restrictive measures in response to the illegal annexation of Crimea and Sevastopol

Council of the EU
  • 28/07/2015
  • 17:00
  • Press release
  • 622/15
  • Foreign affairs & international relations
Press contacts

Catherine Ray
Lead EEAS spokesperson
+32 22969921
+32 498969921

Maja Kocijančič
EEAS spokesperson
+32 22986570
+32 498984425

On 19 June 2015, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/959[1]. The Council Decision extends existing measures until 23 June 2016. 

The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine and Georgia align themselves with this Decision. 

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision. 

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it. 

 [1] Published on 20.6.2015 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 156, p. 25. 

*Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.