Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in view of Russia's actions destabilising the situation in Ukraine

Council of the EU
  • 04/02/2016
  • 12:15
  • Press release
  • 30/16
  • Foreign affairs & international relations
Press contacts

Maja Kocijančič
EEAS spokesperson
+32 22986570
+32 498984425

Catherine Ray
Lead EEAS spokesperson
+32 22969921
+32 498969921

On 21 December 2015, the Council adopted Council Decision (CFSP) 2015/2431[1]. The Council Decision extends existing measures until 31 July 2016.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania*, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

 [1] Published on 22.12.2015 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 334, p. 22.

* Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.