North Korea: EU aligns its lists of sanctioned people and entities with the latest UN Security Council resolution

Council of the EU
  • 15/09/2017
  • 15:00
  • Press release
  • 521/17
  • Foreign affairs & international relations
Press contacts

Virginie Battu
Press officer
+32 22815316
+32 470182405

The Council has added 3 entities, the Propaganda and Agitation department, the Central Military Commission of the Worker's Party of Korea and the Organisation and Guidance department, as well as one person to the lists of those subject to an asset freeze and  travel restrictions, transposing part of the new sanctions imposed by UN Security Council resolution 2375 (2017).

This resolution was adopted on 11 September 2017 in response to the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (DPRK)'s ongoing nuclear-weapon and ballistic missile-development activities, in violation and outrageous disregard of previous UN Security Council resolutions.

The decision brings the total number of persons under restrictive measures against the DPRK to 63 persons and 53 entities as listed by the UN. In addition, 41 persons and 6 entities are designated by the EU autonomously.

The Council will work on the swift transposition of the other sanctions included in UN Security Council resolution 2375. This reflects the approach agreed at the informal meeting of EU foreign ministers in Tallinn on 7 September, which also emphasises the need to work for the implementation of all UN Security Council resolutions by all UN states.

The EU implements all UN Security Council resolutions adopted in response to the DPRK's nuclear programmes and nuclear weapons, other weapons of mass destruction and ballistic missile programmes. In addition, the EU has imposed autonomous restrictive measures against the DPRK, complementing and reinforcing the UN sanctions regime.