European Council
Council of the European Union

Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the EU on the alignment of certain countries concerning restrictive measures in respect of actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine

Council of the EU
  • 12/10/2017
  • 13:00
  • Press release
  • 582/17
  • Foreign affairs & international relations
Press contacts

Catherine Ray
Lead EEAS spokesperson
+32 22969921
+32 498969921

Maja Kocijančič
EEAS spokesperson
+32 22986570
+32 498984425

On 14 September 2017, the Council adopted Decision (CFSP) 2017/1561[1].

The Council Decision renews the existing restrictive measures for a further six months, until 15 March 2018.

The Candidate Countries Montenegro* and Albania*, the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine align themselves with this Council Decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it. 

[1] Published on 15.9.2017 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 237, p.72.

* Montenegro and Albania continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.