We use cookies to ensure we give you the best browsing experience on our website.
Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.

Mr Dijsselbloem appointed new Eurogroup president

On 21 January, the Eurogroup appointed its new president, Dutch Minister of Finance Jeroen Dijsselbloem. Mr Dijsselbloem takes over from Jean-Claude Juncker and will hold the post for two and a half years.

Jeroen Dijsselbloem

Mr Dijsselbloem was appointed Minister of Finance in the current Dutch government on 5 November 2012. Before taking up this post, he had been a member of the House of Representatives since 2000, with a short interruption in 2002. In addition to serving as a spokesperson for his party, he chaired a parliamentary investigation committee on educational reform.

Mr Dijsselbloem holds a degree in agricultural economics. He started his career as an assistant to the Dutch Labour Party members of the European Parliament, later became a political administrative adviser at the Ministry of Agriculture, Nature Management and Fisheries in The Hague, and then deputy head of that ministry's advisory section.

Mr Dijsselbloem joined the Dutch Labour Party (PvdA) in 1985. He was appointed deputy leader of its group in the Dutch parliament in 2008 and was a member of the party's election manifesto committee in 2010 and 2012.

Having been educated both at Wageningen University and at University College, Cork (Ireland), Mr Dijsselbloem is fluent in both Dutch - his mother tongue - and in English.

According to Protocol 14 to the Lisbon Treaty, the president of the Eurogroup is elected by a majority of its members for a term of two and a half years

On his appointment, Mr Dijsselbloem said: "It is a distinct honour to have been given this responsibility in these challenging economic times. I want to thank my colleagues for their trust and confidence. I will work hard together with them with the goal of achieving a quick further recovery of confidence in the euro area. I would like to express my appreciation for Jean-Claude Juncker's great commitment with which he has led the Eurogroup during these very difficult years."


See also:

Help us improve

Find what you wanted?

Yes    No

What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?