We use cookies to ensure we give you the best browsing experience on our website.
Find out more on how we use cookies and how you can change your settings.

New EU sanctions on Russia and Ukraine

Following a meeting of the EU Ambassadors in Brussels on 28 April, the Council adopted by written procedure a new set of measures against actions undermining Ukraine's territorial integrity.

As agreed at the Foreign Affairs Council of 14 April, in the absence of any de-escalation in the eastern part of Ukraine, the EU decided to target 15 additional persons with a travel ban and assets freeze. This brings the total number of persons subject to sanctions in connection with Ukraine's territorial integrity to 48.

The legal texts with the list of persons concerned will be published tomorrow in the EU Official Journal.

Foreign Affairs Council focused on the situation in Eastern Ukraine

At their meeting in Luxembourg on 14 and 15 April, EU foreign affairs ministers strongly
condemned the actions undertaken by armed individuals in cities of Eastern
Ukraine. They called for an immediate halt to these attempts to further
destabilise Ukraine's sovereignty. In its conclusions, the Council called on
Russia to repudiate lawless acts in Eastern Ukraine and pull back its troops
from the Ukrainian border.





Help us improve

Find what you wanted?

Yes    No

What were you looking for?

Any suggestions?